Senior Management

John McCarthy

John McCarthy is Chairman of AEH Property, which governs all property activities of the Group.

He brings over 35 years of property experience to AEH and he is chairman of Playoust Churcher Architects and a director of the Village Building Co Limited, in which AEH has an investment.

Professional roles have included CEO of ANZ Property Investment and Advisory Services and Colonial Mutual Properties. He is the former Managing Director of Tasman Properties and former National President of the Property Council of Australia.

Current appointments include Adjunct Professor (Built Environment) at QUT, Chairman appointed by the Federal Government of the Co-operative Research Centre – Construction Innovation; Chairman Catholic Care Property (NSW); Chairman ICON Net Pty Ltd; Former Chairman appointed by the Federal Government of the Strategic Industry Leaders Group – Facilities Management Action Agenda; Director appointed by the Federal Government of the Australian Building Codes Board, and; Director International College of Management Advisory Board.

In 2010 John was elected President of the International Council for Research and Innovation in Building and Construction (Conseil International du Bâfiment”). CIB was established in 1953 with the support of the United Nations, as an association whose objectives were to stimulate and facilitate international collaboration and information exchange between governmental research institutes in the building and construction sector.

John is a Fellow Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors, Fellow Australian Property Institute, Fellow Real Estate Institute, Fellow Real Estate Agents and Valuers, Honorary Life Member Property Council of Australia and Honorary Life Member Facilities Management Association.

In 2009 John was awarded the Order of Australia for service to the property and construction industries, particularly through leadership roles in peak bodies, and through promotion of co-operation, research and innovation.
John has been working with AEH since 2000.

Nicholas Playoust

Nicholas is the Managing Director of AEH Property, a main board director of AEH Group and Managing Director of AEH Retirement Living.

He is currently focused on the establishment of AEH Group’s Retirement Living portfolio, which includes the acquisition, design, development, ownership and management of Retirement Villages in NSW.

Nicholas has a particular passion for housing, senior’s housing and innovative ways to provide accommodation to the current and next generation of senior Australians, with an emphasis on quality, service and affordability. He also has a keen interest in urban planning and architecture.

Nicholas’ career has always been focused on property. Prior to AEH Group, he practiced as an architect for Peddle Thorp & Walker (including a secondment at Mirvac/HPA), Walter Barda Architects, Brooks Murray Architects of London, and as an architect and development manager for Noosphere (a property design and development company).

His directorships at AEH Group gives him broad experience across other investment classes in listed and unlisted equities, private equity, rural assets and early stage small caps.

Nicholas holds a Bachelor of Science (Architecture) and Bachelor of Architecture (Hons) from Sydney University. He has completed courses at the London School of Economics in Microeconomics and Accounting.

Current Directorships

Nicholas is a member of the Property Council of Australia’s Planning Committee (NSW). He has been a director of AEH since 1995 and has been an executive director since 2003. He is a director of the Playoust Family Foundation and a director of a number of other private investment vehicles and trustee companies.

Julien Playoust

Julien Playoust is a professional company director and Managing Director of AEH Group. He has worked across numerous sectors in capital structuring, mergers & acquisitions, strategy, change management, technology and supply-chain programs. His professional career includes Andersen Consulting and Accenture.
Julien is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, Australian Institute of Management, Royal Australian Institute of Architects and The Executive Connection.

He holds a Masters of Business Administration from AGSM UNSW (1996), Bachelor of Architecture First Class Honours (1991) and Bachelor of Science (1988) from Sydney University and a Company Director Course Diploma from the AICD (2005).

Current Directorships & Appointments

Julien is a Non-executive Director of Tatts Group Limited (Director since November 2005) and Australian Renewable Fuels Limited (Director since April 2009) and is former Chairman of MCM Entertainment Group Limited, all ASX listed companies. He is a Director of private equity company MGB Equity Growth Pty Limited.

He is Trustee and Vice President of the Art Gallery NSW Foundation and Chairman of the Finance Committee, is a Director of the National Gallery of Australia Foundation, and is on the Advisory Boards of University of NSW College of Fine Arts Advisory Council (COFA) and The Nature Conservancy.

Michael Rabey

Michael is the head of marketing and development for AEH Property and is also the Chief Operating Officer for AEH Retirement Living.

Michael’s career includes management consulting with Accenture in Financial Services and Account Management within Westpac’s Customer Relationship Management and Mortgage areas. He has experience in business case development, program management, account management and shareholder value initiatives. He has worked in government and consumer and business banking sectors.

He holds a Bachelor of Computing (Marketing) from Monash University and a Graduate Certificate in Change Management from the Australian Graduate School of Management MBA Program.

Michael is a former member of the Property Council of Australia (NSW Division) Future Directions and Residential Committees and a current member of the Retirement Living and Hunter Chapter Committees.

Michael was a finalist in the 2010 Property Council of Australia Future Leaders Award.